Spot the Sexism #5, Belated Valentine Edition: Rape Joke Valentine

The card's text reads: If you're planning a romantic dinner, never ever EVER forget the champagne.  Champagne can take a woman from "You wanna do WHAT?" to "Yeah, I'll try that." 

Cuz har dee har har using alcohol to get women to do sexual things they otherwise wouldn’t want to is so hilariously original. Not like it would ever happen in real life! And besides, all’s fair in love and war, amirite?

About The Intransigent One

Sometimes I like to post pictures of my cat or my garden or my sewing or other stuff I made or did. Other times I like to rant.
This entry was posted in Spot the Sexism and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spot the Sexism #5, Belated Valentine Edition: Rape Joke Valentine

  1. Now that I’ve written the post I’m thinking some more. Like, seriously, who would buy this card and who would they give it to? And presumably this guy is famous and it’s something he actually said (I’m a pop culture fail), but whose idea was it that it was an appropriate sentiment for a fucking valentine? And how many people review a card design before it goes to market, and gave this one a thumbs up?

    I’m somewhat reassured that while some cards were sold out or there was only one left, the slot for this one was full.

  2. Benyitzhak says:

    That’s Chris Rock, I assume it’s from one of his stand-up shows, but as I haven’t watched any of them, I can’t say for sure.

    I’m guessing that since that looks to be in the Shoebox section, which is Hallmark’s line of “funny” cards, it’s Hallmark, and I’d suspect a large number of people had to decide it was a good card.

    I have no idea who it would be a card for. What does the inside of the card read?

  3. I wish I had thought to look inside the card. I honestly have no idea why I didn’t, except maybe revulsion. I just pulled it far enough up in the slot to snap a picture, then pushed it back down.

    Something tells me it wasn’t, “Hey asshole, if you thought that was funny, you were laughing at RAPE. If you’ve done that, you’re a RAPIST.”

Leave a Reply

