Spot the Sexism #2: Obviously stuff women like, sucks

This is the second image of my Spot the Sexism Series.  It’s part of a campaign for the local racetrack, playing on weird racehorse names.

Billboard

Billboard

One could argue that going to the races also beats:

  • the flu
  • an airplane ride with a screaming baby
  • reality TV

It’s harder to argue that it beats something really good.  This ad “works” based on one or two sexist stereotypes that I can think of:

  1. Everybody knows men despise “chick flicks” – (let’s reaffirm our homosocial bonds by stating that girls are icky)
  2. Rightfully so, because chick flicks suck.

If it’s (1) then apparently half the population doesn’t exist to them and they can’t even be bothered to try to ask us for money.  As for (2), yes, mainstream movies marketed towards women – so-called “chick flicks” – seem to be mainly romantic comedies, and they do tend to be execrably bad.   I’ve got zero expertise when it comes to the politics of showbiz,  but something tells me romantic comedies are not the only films being pitched to be made by, for, and about women, even if they’re pretty much all that does get made and heavily marketed.  And I have a pretty good idea why.

About The Intransigent One

Sometimes I like to post pictures of my cat or my garden or my sewing or other stuff I made or did. Other times I like to rant.
This entry was posted in Spot the Sexism and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

