So I had this clever idea

I’d really like to have a night light in my bathroom. It doesn’t work very well because the outlet in there is on the same circuit as the light switch, you can only have power if the lights are on. I’d really like the night light to be red so it doesn’t wake me up and blind me. I thought I had it figured out: buy some cheap piece of crap battery-powered object and cannibalize it for the battery holder/wire thingmy. Then take apart one of those fancy nightlights with the photosensor and the multicolour LED,

disconnect the plug-in, and replace it with the battery bit. I wasn’t going to let something like this deter me

Why on earth would a LED need 120V difference? There’s probably some kind of transformer in there to make the voltage reasonable, and I can just rip that out, right? It’s not a dangerous thing to try, the worst thing that can happen is that it just won’t work.

Or I could find out that I know a whole lot less about electronics than I think.

The first problem was that the $2.99 flashlight that I chose was actually too simple. There aren’t really any parts I can take out:

And then I opened up the nightlight.

The parts I recognize are the light sensor, the on-off switch, and the LED. Oh well, I could use some kind of night light in the hall too.

About The Intransigent One

Sometimes I like to post pictures of my cat or my garden or my sewing or other stuff I made or did. Other times I like to rant.
This entry was posted in Making Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

